Skip to main content

You are here

RHCSA/RHCE Red Hat Linux Certification Study Guide (Sixth Edition)

Written for the RHEL 6 Red Hat Certified System Administrator EX200 and Red Hat Certified Engineer EX300 certification exams, this is a really good book. It is miles ahead of the disappointment RHEL 6 competing book by Pearson, Hands-on Guide to the Red Hat Exams: RHCSA and RHCE Cert Guide and Lab Manual

This book is divided into two sections, each pertaining the different certifications. This book does an excellent job covering the exam objectives. I felt it covers the objectives just enough so you can get up and running and understand each topic were you can you yourself are competent enough to seek out more information on each topic elsewhere (official docs) without feeling lost. After all, it is important to remember that this is just a reference book. It can’t possibly cover each exam objective in extremely detail, otherwise this already huge 1000 page book would be 5 or 6 times larger. Since this is a certification book, each chapter ends with questions and example labs to help you reinforce your knowledge of the objectives that you need to know to pass the exam. Overall, this is a fantastic Linux system administration book. I’ve always loved certification books even though I never end up taking the exams, the amount of knowledge obtained by simply reading the book is worth it to me (I originally purchased this book on July 5, 2013 and read about two thirds of it until now).

Obviously, this book is now completely outdated since as the time of this writing RHEL 8 is the current version. However, being the third technical book that I’ve read from this author (RHCE and Solaris 11), I can confidently recommend his books and hopefully well see an updated edition of this book soon.

Rating: 4/5

RHCSA/RHCE Red Hat Linux Certification Study Guide (Sixth Edition)

Chapter 1: Prepare for Red Hat Hands-on Certifications
Chapter 2: Virtual Machines and Automated Installations
Chapter 3: Fundamental Command Line Skills
Chapter 4: RHCSA-Level Security Options
Chapter 5: The Boot Process
Chapter 6: Linux Filesystem Administration
Chapter 7: Package Management
Chapter 8: User Management
Chapter 9: RHCSA-Level System Administration Tasks
Chapter 10: A Security Primer
Chapter 11: System Services and SELinux
Chapter 12: RHCE Administrative Tasks
Chapter 13: Electronic Mail Servers
Chapter 14: The Apache Web Server
Chapter 15: The Samba File Server
Chapter 16: More File-Sharing Services
Chapter 17: Administrative Services: DNS, FTP, and Logging


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes